Sex Offender Registration in West Palm Beach

Proudly Serving Clients in Palm Beach County

a man registering as a sex offender in West Palm Beach after talking to his sex offender defense attorneyIf you are convicted of a qualifying sex offense in Florida or another jurisdiction, you will be required to register as a sex offender for life unless you receive a full pardon or post-conviction relief for your qualifying offense. If you are facing charges for a sex crime, you should contact West Palm Beach Criminal Attorney, Ron D. Herman for aggressive legal representation.

At Herman Law, P.A., we care about each client that we represent and every case is given top priority. If you are threatened by the possibility of sex offender registration, we can help. You can look to Attorney Herman’s qualifications to solidify why he is the attorney to trust with your case, some of which include:

  • He is a former prosecutor
  • He has handled over 150 jury trials
  • He has been featured on Fox News, Channel 5, and in the Palm Beach Post
  • Selected to Florida’s Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠

Information About Sex Offender Registration

A sex offender is someone who has been convicted of a qualifying sex offense in Florida or in another jurisdiction. Examples of qualifying adult convictions include, but are not limited to:

  • Kidnapping a minor (not the offender’s child)
  • False imprisonment (victim is a minor, and not the offender’s child)
  • Luring or enticing a child
  • Sexual battery
  • Sexual performance by child
  • Transmission of child pornography
  • Human trafficking

What are the obligations of sexual offenders?

Registrants must register in person at their county sheriff’s office either twice or four times a year depending on the offense. Sexual offenders are REQUIRED to maintain their registration for life. Sex offenders are required to provide: all names and aliases every used, date of birth, sex, race, photograph, place of birth, Social Security number, phone number, all email addresses, employer’s name, residential address, and more.

What happens if I fail to register?

The failure to register as a sex offender as required under Florida law is a third degree felony,punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.

To learn more about sex offender registration, and to speak with Attorney Herman in a free consultation, please contact our office today. We are on your side and we will work tirelessly to help you avoid the maximum penalties under the law.